Short Biography Of Lady Gaga


Lady Gaga, born Stefani Joanne Angelina Germanotta (born March 28 1986), is an American songwriter, singer, actress, philanthropist, dancer and fashion designer. She was born in Manhattan, New York. Her father is of Italian descent, and her mother is of half Italian and half French-Canadian, English, German, and Scottish ancestry. She started signing at a very young age and by the age of 14, Gaga was performing at open mike nights in clubs and bars. By age 17, she had gained early admission to New York University's Tisch School of the Arts. At the age of 19 Gaga withdrew from her studies and moved out of her parents' home in order to pursue a musical career. During this time, she started a band, which began to gain local attention.

After being signed to and quickly dropped from Def Jam Records at age 19, she began performing in the rock music scene of New York City's Lower East Side. In 2007, she met performance artist Lady Starlight at a performance in Lollapalooza Festival and signed a deal with Vince Herbert of Streamline Records. She was serving as an apprentice songwriter at Famous Music Publishing when she signed the deal. She struck a deal with Sony / ATV when Famous Music Publishing was acquired by Sony / ATV Music and was hired to write songs for Pussycat Dolls, New Kids on the Block, Fergie and Britney Spears. Akon, the singer-songwriter identified her vocal talent when she sang a reference vocal for one of his tracks. Akon helped Lady Gaga strike a deal with Interscope to make her part of his own label Kon Live and made her a franchise player.

It was in the year 2008 that Gaga released her first album 'The Fame', which got lukewarm response. In a bid to promote her album, she toured gay clubs, which did not do much help to the success of the album. However, in 2009 Lady Gaga burst onto the music scene with her first hit 'Just Dance' and has not looked back ever since. Since 2009, she has won several nominations and awards. She has given a string of hits over the years. Her second full album 'Born This Way' was released in the year 2011. The album was received with a lot of criticism for touching themes of religion, politics and sexuality. She is in the process of writing her third album ARTPOP, which is slated to release in the second half of 2013. She is also set to make her acting debut in Machete Kills, which is a sequel to Robert Rodriguez's 2010 film Machete.

Lady Gaga Studio albums

  • The Fame (2008)
  • Born This Way (2011)
  • Artpop (2013)

Lady Gaga featured singles

  • Chillin (Wale featuring Lady Gaga) (2009)
  • 3-Way (The Golden Rule) – The Lonely Island featuring Justin Timberlake and Lady Gaga (2011)
  • The Lady is a Tramp (with Tony Bennett) (2011)

Lady Gaga Promotional singles

  • Beautiful, Dirty, Rich (2008)
  • Christmas Tree (featuring Space Cowboy) (2008)
  • Hair (2011)

Lady Gaga Music Videos

  • Just Dance (featuring Colby O'Donis)
  • Beautiful, Dirty, Rich
  • Poker Face
  • Eh, Eh (Nothing Else I Can Say)
  • LoveGame
  • Paparazzi
  • Bad Romance
  • Telephone (featuring BeyoncĂ©)
  • Alejandro
  • Born This Way
  • Judas
  • The Edge of Glory
  • You and I
  • Marry the Night

Prominent Lady Gaga Awards

  • American Music Awards (2010) – Favorite Pop / Rock Female Artist
  • Bambi Awards (2011) – International Pop Artist
  • Billboard Awards (2009) – Billboard's Rising Star Award
  • The Brit Awards (2010) – International Female Solo Artist
  • The Brit Awards (2010) – International Breakthrough Act
  • The Brit Awards (2010) – Best International Album
  • Grammy Awards (2010) – Best Electronic / Dance Album
  • Grammy Awards (2010) – Best Dance Recording
  • Grammy Awards (2011) – Best Pop Vocal Album
  • Grammy Awards (2011) – Best Female Pop Vocal Performance
  • Grammy Awards (2011) – Best Short Form Music Video


Source by Vincenzo Bruno

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *